Pro Guides
Buying a Pool Route: What It's Worth and How to Check It
Through a broker, pool routes are usually priced at 10 to 12 times monthly service billing. Here's how to price one, check it before you sign and keep every account.
Before you read the rest
The short version
The pricing rule
Through a broker, 10 to 12 times monthly service billing, says National Pool Route Sales (NPRS). Owner to owner, about 6 to 8 times, Pool & Spa News reported.
Only base service counts
NPRS and SpringBoard leave repairs and separately billed filter cleans out of the price.
Live listings cluster at 12x
Five of the seven NPRS listings we checked asked 12.0x; two in Arizona asked 13.0x. Asking prices, not closing prices.
The risk is the handover
The usual protection is a 90-day guarantee, backed by an escrow holdback of 10% of the price at SpringBoard and 10% to 20% at NPRS.
Check the accounts, not the multiple
The multiple barely moves between listings. What varies is the accounts: rates, payment history, tenure and how tight each service day is.
Bank loans are rare
A route has no building to lend against, NPRS says. Brokers name seller financing, SBA programs, home equity lines and outside lenders.
Buying a route? Run it from one app. PoolChecker Pro imports the account list, puts each day's stops in drive order and records every visit from day one. Free up to 14 pools.
See PoolChecker ProRoute value estimator
Pool route valuation: run the numbers
Check an asking price, the cash you need and payback after your costs.
Loaded: National Pool Route Sales listing FL12218 (Brevard County, FL), 40 pools, $5,900 a month, asking $70,800, checked September 29, 2026.
The pricing rule
How much is a pool route worth?
Through a broker, a pool route is usually priced at 10 to 12 times its monthly service billing; owner to owner, about 6 to 8 times. A route billing $5,900 a month is about $59,000 to $70,800 through a broker.
NPRS, the broker with the largest public listing archive we found, says a route "typically costs between 10 to 12 times its monthly recurring service billing"; Pool & Spa News and Poolside Business Brokers say the same. Without a broker, Pool & Spa News reported sellers at "six- to eight times the monthly gross" in 2008, and Sealey Business Brokers calls 8x "a common ceiling for DIY". NPRS, SpringBoard and Poolside multiply base service billing only; the older trade press and Sealey say "gross", meaning gross earnings, not profit.
What seven live listings askFive asked 12.0x and two in Arizona 13.0x. Load any of them into the estimator.
| Listing | Area | Pools | Monthly service | Asking price | Multiple | Per account | Avg rate | Load into the estimator |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AZ12225 | Waddell, Surprise, Sun City, Glendale, West Peoria | 68 | $8,050 | $104,650 | 13.0x | $1,539 | $118 | |
| AZ12236 | Gilbert, Mesa, Chandler, Tempe, Scottsdale | 75 | $9,750 | $126,750 | 13.0x | $1,690 | $130 | |
| AZ12234 | Laveen to Maricopa, 8 cities | 26 | $3,350 | $40,200 | 12.0x | $1,546 | $129 | |
| TX12232 | McKinney, Plano, Frisco, Allen, Fairview | 60 | $10,500 | $126,000 | 12.0x | $2,100 | $175 | |
| TX12160 | North and Central San Antonio | 45 | $8,850 | $106,200 | 12.0x | $2,360 | $197 | |
| FL12230 | Davie, Weston | 58 | $6,896 | $82,750 | 12.0x | $1,427 | $119 | |
| FL12218 | Brevard County, 6 cities | 40 | $5,900 | $70,800 | 12.0x | $1,770 | $148 |
Asking prices from one broker in three states, not closing prices. All seven offered 30 days of training, a 90-day guarantee and a 5-year non-compete. Multiples, per-account prices and average rates are worked out from each listing's monthly service and price. Listings change as routes sell; see the current ones on the National Pool Route Sales listings page.
Two more counts. Of the 145 listings on Vista Pool Routes' sold page (Florida, undated; figures as the page shows them, not verified closing prices; 83 say the price includes other assets, such as equipment, trucks or the business name), the median was 12.0x, with 68 at 12.0x and 105 between 10.0x and 12.0x. All four listings we read on Pool Routes for Sale (Florida and Texas, dated October 2024 to March 2025) were priced at exactly 12 times monthly billing.
Why the numbers you find online disagreeAsking vs closing prices, what counts as billing, and a published range that has moved since 2008.
- Asking vs closing. No source publishes closing prices for pool routes. Everything here is asking prices or brokers' published ranges.
- What counts as billing. A price on total revenue, repairs included, and a price on base service look like different multiples for the same route. Brokers multiply base service only (NPRS FAQ).
- Gross vs net payback. "Pays back in months" on gross billing looks far faster than on what you keep after costs. The estimator shows both.
- Old articles repeated as new. Some regional multiples still quoted online come from 2013 trade press.
The published range has moved. NPRS's Chris Webb told Pool Magazine the multiple "can typically range from eight to twelve times the service rate" (August 2024). The NPRS FAQ (April 2026) says 10 to 12, and that high-demand markets "can reach 14x" while others "transact regularly at 10x". An NPRS blog post (April 20, 2026) says "typically somewhere between 10x-15x". Sealey Business Brokers gives 10 to 12 (April 2026) and 8 to 12 (May and June 2026). Pool & Spa News reported 8 to 13 in 2015. Here they are on one scale, in multiples of monthly service billing:
What moves the number
What makes a route worth more, or less
Tight service days, rates at or above the local market, long-time accounts on autopay and weekly full service push a route toward the top of the range. Few of these come with a published number.
| Factor | Raises value | Lowers value |
|---|---|---|
| Tight service days | Raises value: Each day's stops within 5 to 6 miles (SpringBoard) | Lowers value: 30 miles of driving a day (NPRS) |
| Rates | Raises value: Top half of the local market (Chris Webb, NPRS) | Lowers value: Undercharging "affects price and marketability strongly" (NPRS) |
| Account history | Raises value: Over a year old and paying on time (SpringBoard) | Lowers value: New accounts with no payment record |
| How customers pay | Raises value: 80% to 90%+ on autopay or card (NPRS; Poolside) | Lowers value: Under 50% on autopay (Poolside) |
| Retention | Raises value: 95%+ kept each year (Poolside) | Lowers value: 85% or lower (Poolside) |
| Service type | Raises value: Weekly full service (Poolside) | Lowers value: Chemical-only accounts (Poolside) |
| Market | Raises value: High-demand areas, up to 14x (NPRS) | Lowers value: Seasonal accounts (Poolside); many areas trade at 10x (NPRS) |
| Training and extras | Raises value: Training, equipment or a truck in the deal: 12x to 18x (The Pool Pros) | Lowers value: An experienced buyer who needs no training: 10x (The Pool Pros) |
| How it's sold | Raises value: Through a broker: 10x to 12x (NPRS) | Lowers value: Owner to owner: 6x to 8x (Pool & Spa News, 2008) |
| Customer mix | Raises value: Billing spread over many accounts | Lowers value: One HOA or commercial pool with a big share of billing |
| No clear effect | Biweekly service, commercial accounts, written contracts and route size. Sources disagree on chemicals included in the rate. | |
The detail and quotes behind each factorWhat each source says, quote by quote.
- Tight service days
- SpringBoard: "The overall radius of the route shouldn't concern you as much as the daily route radius. A good daily service route should have a radius of 5 to 6 miles or less." Pool & Spa News: "about a five-mile radius is good to shoot for" (2013). NPRS: a "tight" route with 10 pools on two streets "is worth significantly more" than one needing 30 miles of daily driving. The Pool Pros' top tiers require "a tight route (all in one zip code or development)".
- Rates
- NPRS FAQ: "If a seller is undercharging, the decreased profitability affects price and marketability strongly." Chris Webb of NPRS tells sellers: "Make sure your rates are in the top 50% of your marketplace" (Pool Magazine, August 2024). The rate is already inside the price (billing times the multiple); this factor is about whether under-market accounts drag the multiple down, and whether you can raise them later.
- Account history
- SpringBoard: "If the average age of the accounts being purchased is over a year and they have good payment history, these are considered good accounts." NPRS: "Customer histories should show when an account was billed and when the account paid" (2019).
- How customers pay
- NPRS FAQ: routes where "90%+ of customers are on Auto-Pay or credit card billing are more desireable" (sic). Poolside Business Brokers (undated): "80%+ autopay: premium multiple", "Below 50% autopay: lower multiple". Tommy Falvai of Pool Route Pros told Pool & Spa News (2013): "We like to see a route where the seller does advance billing, at the first part of the month."
- Retention
- Poolside Business Brokers (undated): 95%+ annual retention "commands premium multiples"; 85% or lower sees "the multiple compressed". NPRS's due diligence list asks the seller for "the annual cancellation rate".
- Service type
- Poolside ranks "Weekly full-service accounts: most valuable" and "Chemical-only accounts: lower value, higher churn risk". Listings rarely say which accounts are weekly, biweekly or chemical-only, so ask for the split.
- Market
- NPRS FAQ: high-demand markets "can reach 14x", others "transact regularly at 10x". Two of the seven listings we checked, both in the Phoenix area, asked 13x. Webb: San Diego "sold for a premium for many years, then couldn't find a buyer to pay that premium anymore" (2024). Poolside: "Seasonal accounts: discounted in valuation". Every broker inventory we reviewed was in Sun Belt states, and we found no published pricing for routes where pools close for winter.
- Training, truck and equipment
- The Pool Pros, a Florida broker, publishes a ladder: 10x to an experienced buyer who needs no training or equipment; 12x with 30 days of hands-on training and 180 days of phone support; 13x with a tight route plus equipment; 14x to 15x adding a vehicle; 13x to 18x when vehicles, equipment and business assets such as the phone number and company name are included (undated). NPRS does the opposite: trucks and equipment "are rarely included", and a truck can be bought at "the Blue Book value of the vehicle" on top. The estimator follows NPRS and adds them as a separate line, so they are never counted twice.
- How it's sold
- NPRS FAQ; Pool & Spa News, 2008; Sealey Business Brokers, April 2026. The gap pays for the screening, escrow and contract terms a broker brings.
- Customer mix
- No source puts a number on it. If an HOA or a commercial pool is a big share of the billing, one cancellation after the guarantee hits hard, so work out each account's share of the monthly total before you sign.
- Chemicals included or billed separately
- The NPRS FAQ says the price "excludes income from repairs, chemicals, or equipment sales" but also that you pay on "the recurring monthly cleaning fee plus certain chemicals if charged weekly based on consumption". Broker articles disagree on whether chemicals-included routes earn a higher or lower multiple. On a flat rate with chemicals included, the chemicals come out of your pocket every week, so they change what you keep. Ask how the broker counted them before you compare two routes.
- Biweekly accounts
- No source we found prices biweekly service differently. Since the price is a multiple of what each account bills, a lower monthly fee already shows up in the price. Listings usually don't say which accounts are biweekly, so ask.
- Commercial accounts
- No broker publishes a commercial adjustment. In our count of the Vista archive, residential-only listings had a median of 12.0x and listings with any commercial accounts 11.5x, with commercial-heavy listings anywhere from 10.0x to 13.5x.
- Contracts
- NPRS describes what you buy as "the names, addresses, and service agreements of a set number of customers". No source puts a value on written contracts. Ask whether any exist and have your attorney read them.
- Route size
- In our count of the Vista archive, median multiples were 12.0x for routes of 0 to 29, 30 to 59, 60 to 99 and 100 to 199 accounts, and 11.9x at 200 and up. Bigger deals that include a company are priced differently (see buying a whole company).
Where routes are listed
Pool routes for sale: brokers and private deals
Most routes sell through a handful of pool route brokers, almost all in Sun Belt states, plus private sales between owners. We don't list routes.
Brokers with listings we saw, named so you can find them and not as a recommendation: National Pool Route Sales, SpringBoard Pool Route Brokers, Vista Pool Routes, The Pool Pros and Pool Routes for Sale.
The 9 pool route brokers we readWhere each is based, what we saw and its website. Named so you can find them, not as a recommendation.
| Broker | Based in (per its site) | What we saw | Website |
|---|---|---|---|
| National Pool Route Sales | Irvine, CA; Clearwater, FL; an Arizona office | Listings in Arizona, Northern and Southern California, Florida, Nevada, Texas, other states | poolroutesales.com |
| SpringBoard Pool Route Brokers | Folsom, CA | Listings in California, Arizona, Texas, Nevada, Hawaii, Florida | sbpoolroutes.com |
| Vista Pool Routes | Sarasota, FL | Listings in Florida, by county | vistapoolroutes.com |
| The Pool Pros | Coral Springs, FL | Listings in South Florida | thepoolpros.com |
| Pool Routes for Sale | Coral Springs, FL (Tower Business Brokers, Inc.) | Listings in Florida and Texas | pool-routes-for-sale.com |
| Sealey Business Brokers | Rancho Cucamonga, CA, with a Texas office | Articles read; listings not reviewed | sealeybb.com |
| Poolside Business Brokers | Not stated; says it serves all 50 states | Articles read; listings not reviewed | poolsidebrokers.com |
| Pool Route Sales USA | Not stated on the pages we read | Its Buyer Services terms read; listings not reviewed | usapoolroutesales.com |
| Sunbelt Business Brokers | A general business broker network | Publishes a pool route buying guide | sunbeltnetwork.com |
Superior Pool Routes (checked September 29, 2026) also sells routes, at 6x to 7x monthly billing, with accounts delivered starting about 10 to 14 days after you sign and pick your cities. Accounts with no payment history are not comparable to an established route, so ask any seller how long each account has been a customer.
How to read a pool route listing
NPRS says its agents send buyers "Route Sheets" showing "the number of pools, monthly billing, and areas served". The NPRS listings we read add more, and leave a few things out:
Usually on the sheet
- Pools, monthly billing and areas served
- The residential and commercial split
- Average account age and payment history
- Extras the seller charges for, such as filter cleans
- Training, guarantee and non-compete periods
Usually missing, so ask
- Which accounts are weekly and which biweekly
- Whether chemicals are included in the rate
- What a yearly income figure includes: service only, service plus repairs, or the seller's net (NPRS's region tables don't say)
To get the multiple, divide the asking price by the monthly service: $70,800 / $5,900 = 12.0x. Or put pools, monthly service and price into the estimator.
Buying direct from an owner
Private deals are cheaper, about 6 to 8 times monthly gross in Pool & Spa News' 2008 reporting, and riskier: Pool & Spa News warned in 2015 that a direct seller "may be inflating the value of the route" with "filter cleanings and repairs", and that without a non-compete you are "more vulnerable to poaching by the seller". A seller who has done both told PoolPro: "It's a little riskier selling it yourself." Get the broker-style protections in writing anyway: the account list before you pay, a guarantee, a holdback with a neutral escrow company and a non-compete, in a contract your attorney draws up.
When to look
NPRS says April and May bring "more competition for the best routes", with "faster sales and less room for negotiation"; in fall, owners "sell portions of their routes" to tighten their territory, which is when "pocket" routes of many pools in one neighborhood show up. The Pool Pros, a Florida broker, says in its marketing that "there are more buyers than sellers" and that half its listings never reach its website because a buyer is waiting.
Before you sign
How to check a pool route before you buy
You are buying the accounts behind the monthly number, not the multiple. Get the account list, payment history and bank deposits before you sign, and get the answers in writing.
NPRS says you will sign a confidentiality agreement before you see customer lists and billing data. That's normal. Then work through these 28 checks.
0 of 28 checkedSaved in this browser only. Nothing is sent anywhere.
Documents0 of 6
The accounts0 of 8
The money0 of 3
The map0 of 1
The contract0 of 10
Walk-away signs
Any one of these is a reason to slow down, or to walk away.
- No account list before you pay. NPRS's own career page advises against closing without one.
- Billing that doesn't match the bank deposits. Sunbelt tells buyers to ask for both.
- Addresses with no pool, or customers who already fired the seller. Brokers found both when they called customers, Pool & Spa News reported.
- A price argued from tax returns instead of the account list. NPRS: "Maybe he had 100 pools and he has already sold fifty."
- No non-compete. Without one, Pool & Spa News warned, a buyer is "more vulnerable to poaching by the seller".
Terms, money and paperwork
Making the deal
A broker sale normally comes with a 90-day guarantee, a holdback of 10% or more in escrow, about 30 days of training and a 5-year non-compete, and the seller pays the broker. Bank loans are rare: NPRS calls borrowing "relatively uncommon" for most route purchases, and some listings offer seller financing.
The 90-day guaranteeLost accounts are replaced, or refunded at the purchase multiple.
If an account cancels in the first 90 days "through no fault of your own, the seller must either replace that account with one of equal value or refund the proportional purchase price" (NPRS FAQ). The refund is "the deficient amount times the purchase factor" (NPRS, 2018): lose a $150 account on a 12x deal and the refund is $1,800.
Most sources say 90 days; NPRS's career page says 60 to 90, from the close of escrow. "Your fault" usually means negligence; NPRS's example is if "you didn't skip the pool". Get the definition, the start date and who picks between replacement and refund in writing.
Don't drop accounts you don't like inside the window. PoolPro reported (2013) that one seller's buyer "dropped pools if he didn't like something", and the seller replaced about five before he realized what was going on. A seller who has seen that will read every cancellation closely. If an account isn't worth keeping, negotiate it out before closing, the way one owner told Pool & Spa News he "talked [the seller] out of a couple accounts" (2013).
The deposit and the escrow holdbackAbout 10% down to open escrow; 10% to 20% held for the guarantee.
To open escrow the buyer "will typically deposit 10% in good funds as part of the purchase price" (NPRS, Starting a Career, 2019). Ask when it stops being refundable.
Part of the price is then held back from the seller until the guarantee ends: 10% "for the guarantee period ... (usually 90 days)" at SpringBoard, 10% in PoolPro's 2013 reporting, and NPRS says it "holds back 10% to 20% of the total purchase price in an escrow account". Refunds for lost accounts are paid from it before the seller gets the rest (NPRS FAQ). If losses exceed the holdback, ask how the rest gets paid. The estimator shows both amounts for your route.
Training and the ride-along2 to 4 weeks, and you keep the income meanwhile.
NPRS: "Usually 2 weeks of full-time ride-alongs, followed by 2 weeks of phone/consulting support". SpringBoard: four weeks, two hands-on and two on call, and "During this training period, the buyer receives ALL the income earned". Every NPRS listing we checked offered 30 days. NPRS also suggests taking a Certified Pool Operator course during training "to meet requirements for commercial accounts".
The seller also introduces you to customers, by letter or in person (NPRS FAQ); SpringBoard says a letter should go out "within thirty days of the transfer date".
The non-competeTypically 5 years, covering the seller and family.
"Typically 5 years", and it covers the seller "and their immediate family/employees" (NPRS FAQ). SpringBoard and Vista also list five years. Pool & Spa News said "usually for two years" in 2008; five is today's norm in the sources we read. Without one, Pool & Spa News warned (2015), a buyer is "more vulnerable to poaching by the seller", especially once the new owner raises rates. Ask your attorney how a non-compete works in your state.
Who pays whatThe seller pays the broker out of the price.
| Item | Who pays | Source |
|---|---|---|
| The purchase price | Buyer | |
| Deposit to open escrow, about 10% (part of the price) | Buyer | NPRS, 2019 |
| Broker commission | Seller, out of the price. In PoolPro's example the buyer paid 12x, the seller got 10x and the broker 2x | PoolPro, 2013 |
| Escrow holdback, 10% to 20% for about 90 days | Held back from the seller's proceeds | SpringBoard; NPRS FAQ |
| Refunds for accounts lost in the guarantee | Seller, from the holdback first | NPRS FAQ |
| Training | Seller's time; at SpringBoard the buyer keeps all income during training | SpringBoard |
| Truck, tools, chemicals | Buyer, separately (trucks rarely included) | NPRS FAQ |
| Escrow and document fees | Not stated in the sources we read: ask | |
| Your attorney and CPA | Budget for your own |
Published broker commissions: about two months of billing (Pool & Spa News, 2013), which is 16.7% of a 12x price; "typically between 10 and 20 percent" (Pool & Spa News, 2015); "roughly 2 months of revenue or 15-20%" (Sealey, April 2026); "$1,000 or 10% of the purchase price, whichever is greater" (The Pool Pros); 12% at Poolside, which says traditional brokers charge "16.7% of the purchase price or more".
Closing paperworkAn asset purchase agreement, a route list and the non-compete.
In an NPRS sale the escrow department drafts an Asset Purchase Agreement with a bill of sale for the goodwill, a route list of every account (each "customer's name, address, service day, and monthly billing rate"), and the non-compete (NPRS FAQ). Have your own attorney read it, and see the taxes question for Form 8594 and the 15-year write-off.
Pool route financing
NPRS says a route is customers, not equipment or a building, so traditional bank loans are rare. Brokers name seller financing, SBA programs, home equity lines and lenders they work with, but the NPRS FAQ calls borrowing "relatively uncommon for the vast majority of route purchases".
The five ways to pay, in brokers' wordsSeller financing, SBA loans, home equity, broker lenders and cash. We don't recommend any lender.
Seller financing. The seller takes part of the price over time. NPRS: "On occasion a seller may offer seller financing, if this is possible it will be clearly indicated on their advertisements." Listings we read advertised "UP TO 25%" and "UP TO 50% SELLER FINANCING" (Vista) and 25% to 35% seller financing (NPRS listing archive). Ask the rate, the term, and what happens to the note if accounts leave after the guarantee.
SBA loans. U.S. Small Business Administration programs, made through lenders. NPRS: "SBA programs are available, but have strict guidelines for the buyer, what is being purchased and quality of purchase." Some listings in Vista's undated archive advertised SBA prequalification, one "as low as 10% down" and another with 12% to 37% down. Ask how long approval takes, and whether the lender has financed service routes before.
Home equity line of credit. NPRS: "Home equity lines of credit (HELOC) are often the quickest and least expensive financing you can select." This one puts your house on the line.
Lenders brokers work with. NPRS says it "works to locate alternative 3rd Party Lenders, however their available programs and guidelines can change regularly". SpringBoard's financing page promotes a business lender partner with online pre-approval, and its home page advertises "100% Financing Options Available". Ask any lender to put the total cost in writing and compare it with the route's billing minus your costs.
Cash. NPRS screens buyers for "the capital (or pre-approved financing)" before showing routes.
How common is outside financing? The sources disagree. Besides the FAQ line above, an NPRS blog post (April 2026) says: "Typically, there is not a means of third party finance of a route purchase. However, on occasion an owner might offer to receive some of the payments over time."
General information, not financial advice. Talk to a lender and your CPA about your situation.
After closing
Your first 90 days: keep every account
After the guarantee, every account that leaves is your loss, so change nothing customers can see. As one owner told Pool & Spa News, "All clients really want to know is that there won't be any drop in their service."
-
Week 1
Set up before the first visit
- Get the route list as a spreadsheet (name, address, day, frequency, rate, gate code, notes) and into your software.
- Agree on the introduction letter with the seller and broker. NPRS often has a template and SpringBoard a sample; ours is below.
- Ride every stop with the seller, who NPRS says should "show you the 'trick' to every gate" and each pool's chemical needs. Note gates, dogs and equipment.
-
Month 1
Change nothing customers see
- SpringBoard says the seller's letter should go out within 30 days of the transfer. Present yourself as the person taking care of the pool, not someone who bought it. As Bryan Chrissan told Pool & Spa News, "You don't want to tell the customer you're selling their pool."
- Keep the same day, rate and way of paying: a cancellation you caused may not count as "no fault of your own", so the holdback won't cover it.
- Log every visit with a note or photo: proof nothing slipped if a loss is disputed.
-
Month 3
Close out the guarantee
- Pool & Spa News reported that customers call the old owner for about 90 days; the seller should pass them on. Report any cancellation, with date and reason in writing, to the broker or escrow company at once.
- Don't drop accounts you don't like inside the window (see the guarantee).
- Raise rates after the guarantee, with a written price increase letter, and in groups, starting furthest below the market. A buyer NPRS quotes raised $20 over three months in three groups and lost one pool and one spa customer of 46 (a testimonial the broker chose); owners Pool & Spa News quoted in 2008 split between keeping rates "the same for at least a year" and raising them with techs trained to explain the value.
Setting up the truck before day one? Our pool service truck checklist covers what to carry from the first pool.
Hi [Customer first name],
I want to introduce [Buyer name] of [Buyer company], who will be taking care of your pool starting [date].
Your service day stays [day]. Over the next few weeks [Buyer first name] and I will visit together, so [Buyer first name] knows your gate, your equipment and how you like things done. [Buyer first name] will let you know how billing works going forward.
You can reach [Buyer first name] at [phone] or [email].
Thank you for [number] years of trusting me with your pool.
[Seller name]
Our draft; your broker may have its own template, so use theirs if the contract calls for it. Sent by the seller, on paper or from the seller's usual email. Don't start texting purchased customers until they have agreed to texts from you, and ask your attorney about consent in a route sale.
Fill in the namesThe letter above fills in as you type. Nothing you type leaves this page.
After you close
Bring the accounts into software
Get the route list into a system before the ride-along ends, so every visit through the guarantee window is on file.
PoolChecker Pro
How PoolChecker Pro handles a route you just bought
Our software for pool service companies: customers, routes, service visits and billing in one app, on the web and on iPhone and Android.
- Import a spreadsheet or another app's export, up to 5,000 rows. Only name and address are required; service day and frequency build each schedule, and rates, gate codes, notes and equipment can come along.
- Tap Locate All to put the pools on the map (about one address a second); a pool needs a location to be routed.
- Each day's stops in drive order, planned a week ahead.
- Every visit saved with photos, readings and a checklist, through the whole guarantee window.
- Chemical doses sized to each pool's gallons, and a per-pool winter pause that keeps the schedule for spring.
- For texts on a bought route, choose "Start them all opted out" when you import, and ask each customer yourself.

The route screen in PoolChecker Pro.
Free
$0
Up to 14 pools, single operator
Solo
$24.99/mo
Up to 50 pools, single operator
Pro
$59.99/mo
Unlimited pools, plus $24.99 a month for each tech or manager
Every plan has every feature; plans differ in pools, team and texts, and the owner is not a seat. Month to month, with a spreadsheet export anytime. NPRS calls 40 to 60 accounts the best first route: 40 pools fits Solo at $24.99 a month; 60 pools on your own is $59.99 on Pro, and each tech or manager you add is $24.99.
Getting paid through PoolChecker ProSaved cards and bank accounts, and what payments cost.
Brokers call routes where 90% or more of customers pay by autopay or card more desirable (NPRS FAQ, April 2026). PoolChecker Pro can charge saved cards or bank accounts on the months you pick, invoice each charge, and post it to QuickBooks Online if you use it. Payments cost Stripe's standard processing fee plus a platform fee of 2.5% on Free, 1.5% on Solo or 0.9% on Pro, taken from your payout and never added to the customer's bill. Payments need Stripe to verify your business, which can take a few days, and customer texts, emails and payments switch on once your company is two business days old and has its address, logo, business hours and three pools on the map with a service day. Don't change anyone's payment method inside the guarantee window.
We can't tell you any software raises what a route is worth. Brokers say documented records and autopay matter; none says by how much.
Questions
Buying a pool route: questions answered
How much does it cost to buy a pool route?
The price, usually 10 to 12 times monthly service billing through a broker, plus what the route needs to run. NPRS lists $400 to $800 for tools, $1,500 to $2,500 for a truck stock of chemicals, $1,200 to $2,000 for liability insurance and CPO certification and $50 to $150 a month for route software, and says trucks are rarely included (FAQ, April 2026). Expect to deposit about 10% of the price to open escrow (NPRS, 2019). The estimator adds it up for your route.
Is buying a pool route a good investment?
It can be, if the accounts hold. You pay 10 to 12 months of billing up front, and every account that leaves after the 90-day guarantee raises what you really paid for the billing you kept. Check the account list, payment history and rates before you sign, and run your own costs through the estimator. General information, not financial advice.
Should I buy a pool route or start from scratch?
In our view, buy if you need income now and can check the accounts hard; build if you have time and little cash, and buy a nearby route later to fill your days. Buying costs 10 to 12 times monthly billing through a broker (Pool & Spa News, 2017: routes "generally cost 12 times the monthly service rates"), but the accounts bill from week one, and at SpringBoard the buyer keeps all income during training. Starting from scratch has no route price: NPRS estimates $5,000 to $20,000 for a solo start, including a vehicle and branding, but income starts at zero and you find every customer. Tools, chemicals and insurance are needed either way.
What does a pool route broker do, and who pays the broker?
A broker lists the route, screens buyers, runs escrow and writes the contract with the guarantee, holdback and non-compete. The seller pays the commission out of the price: about two months of billing in Pool & Spa News' 2013 reporting, 10% to 20% in its 2015 reporting. Brokers are paid when routes sell, so weigh their numbers with that in mind.
What happens if customers cancel after I buy a route?
Inside the guarantee, usually 90 days, the seller replaces each account you lose through no fault of your own or refunds it at its monthly rate times the purchase multiple (NPRS, 2018). The refund comes out of a 10% to 20% holdback first. After the guarantee, losses are yours. Estimates of handover losses run from 1 to 2 percent (NPRS, 2019) to about 30 percent (an owner in Pool & Spa News, 2008).
How big should my first pool route be?
NPRS calls 40 to 60 accounts the best size for a beginner and says one person can typically service 10 to 12 pools a day (FAQ, April 2026), but NPRS's own career page says about 20 full service pools a day, so treat both as rough. Pool & Spa News (2017) suggests aiming for two pools an hour. Size the route to the days you want to work.
Do repairs, filter cleans and chemicals count in the price?
Repairs and filter cleans billed separately don't: brokers price only the base monthly service fee (NPRS FAQ; SpringBoard). Chemicals are murkier. The NPRS FAQ says the price excludes chemical sales but also counts "certain chemicals if charged weekly based on consumption". If chemicals are built into a flat rate, ask the broker how they counted them before you compare routes.
How is buying a whole pool company different?
A company with employees, trucks and its own name is usually valued on what it earns the owner, not as a multiple of billing. NPRS's Chris Webb: "we look at the total benefit to the owner, not just the net income" (Pool Magazine, 2024). The Pool Pros values a business at "One to Five years net income or 'owner benefit'" backed by tax returns. Across all industries, IBBA and M&A Source report about 2.0x seller's discretionary earnings for businesses priced under $500,000 and 2.8x for $500,000 to $1 million (Market Pulse, Q1 2026). A 12x route price is one year of billing: a low multiple of earnings for an owner-operator who keeps most of it, a high one for a company with payroll. A company valuation needs a professional business appraisal; the estimator on this page does not do one.
What taxes and paperwork come with buying a pool route?
In an NPRS sale the escrow department drafts an Asset Purchase Agreement with a bill of sale for the goodwill, a route list of every account and the non-compete (NPRS FAQ); have your own attorney read it. Buyer and seller each report the sale on IRS Form 8594 when goodwill or going concern value attaches, or could attach, and the buyer's basis is set only by the price paid (IRS, About Form 8594). Goodwill, a customer-based intangible and a non-compete signed with the purchase are amortized over 15 years, or 180 months (2025 Instructions for Form 4562). Ask a CPA how to split the price between the customer list, the non-compete and any equipment before you sign. General information, not tax or legal advice.
Receipts
Sources
Every figure on this page comes from the 29 sources below or is worked out from them; advice with no source named is our own. Most route pricing comes from route brokers, who are paid when routes sell, and is asking prices, not closing prices.
All 29 sources, with links and datesNational Pool Route Sales, SpringBoard, Vista Pool Routes, The Pool Pros, Sealey, Poolside, Sunbelt, Pool & Spa News, PoolPro, Pool Magazine, IBBA and the IRS.
- 1National Pool Route Sales, "FAQs". Published January 29, 2019, updated April 6, 2026.
- 2National Pool Route Sales, "Purchasing a Pool Route: 90 Day Guarantee". May 2, 2018.
- 3National Pool Route Sales, "Starting a Career". Published January 29, 2019, updated May 15, 2019.
- 4National Pool Route Sales, "Built, Bought, or Sold: Navigating Pool Route Success with NPRS" (blog). April 20, 2026.
- 5National Pool Route Sales, listing pages: the seven listings in our table (AZ12225, AZ12236, AZ12234, TX12232, TX12160, FL12230, FL12218) and its public listing archive (asking prices). Checked September 29, 2026. Listings index.
- 6National Pool Route Sales, "Testimonials" (broker-selected, undated).
- 7Joe Trusty, "Buying & Selling a Pool Route With National Pool Route Sales" (interview with Chris Webb), Pool Magazine. August 25, 2024.
- 8"Buying routes can boost your business, but are you getting your money's worth?", Pool & Spa News. 2008 (archive date).
- 9Steve Straehley and Annemarie Mannion, "A Route to Success", Pool & Spa News. 2013 (archive date).
- 10Annemarie Mannion, "How to Smoothly Transfer a Pool Route", Pool & Spa News. 2013 (archive date).
- 11Nate Traylor, "The Middlemen", Pool & Spa News. April 24, 2015.
- 12Michelle Cramer, "Selling Pool Routes", PoolPro Magazine. May 1, 2013, updated May 30, 2025.
- 13The Pool Pros (Coral Springs, FL), "Sell Your Pool Business". Undated, checked September 29, 2026.
- 14SpringBoard Pool Route Brokers, "How to Purchase a Route". Undated, checked September 29, 2026.
- 15SpringBoard Pool Route Brokers, "Why Use a Broker". Undated, checked September 29, 2026.
- 16SpringBoard Pool Route Brokers, "Pool Route Financing" and home page. Undated, checked September 29, 2026.
- 17Sealey Business Brokers, "DIY Sale Vs Pool Route Broker: Which Is Better for Your Bottom Line?". April 6, 2026.
- 18Sealey Business Brokers, "Pool Route Valuation Explained in Under 3 Minutes". May 2, 2026.
- 19Sealey Business Brokers, "The Ultimate Guide to How to Sell a Pool Route" (2026 edition). June 24, 2026.
- 20Poolside Business Brokers, "How to Value a Pool Route" and home page. Undated, checked September 29, 2026.
- 21Vista Pool Routes, "Sold Pool Routes" archive, "Buy a Pool Route" and "Financing" pages. Undated archive; tabulated by us September 29, 2026.
- 22Pool Routes for Sale, listing pages dated October 26, 2024 to March 19, 2025.
- 23Superior Pool Routes, home page. Checked September 29, 2026.
- 24Sunbelt Business Brokers, "Your Guide to Buying a Pool Route". Published April 1, 2021, updated June 5, 2025.
- 25Pool Route Sales USA, "Buyer Services". Undated.
- 26IBBA and M&A Source, "Market Pulse Q1 2026 Highlights" (all industries). Published May 2026.
- 27Internal Revenue Service, "About Form 8594, Asset Acquisition Statement". Page reviewed March 30, 2026.
- 28Internal Revenue Service, "Instructions for Form 4562" (2025).
- 29Nate Traylor, "So, You Want to Start a Pool Service Business", Pool & Spa News. April 13, 2017, updated June 11, 2025.
We plan to recheck the listings and the NPRS FAQ every quarter; the next check is due by December 31, 2026. These guides are general information for business owners, not legal, tax, financial or appraisal advice.
PoolChecker Pro
Bought the route? Run it from one app.
Bring in the account list, get each day's stops in drive order, and keep a record of every visit from day one. Free up to 14 pools. Solo covers up to 50 for $24.99 a month. Month to month.
More for pool company owners: all Pro Guides.